John Ostenburg

Mayor, Village of Park Forest, Illinois
Executive Board Secretary, Environment & Energy Committee Chairman of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

John A. Ostenburg was elected as Mayor of the Village of Park Forest in 1999 and was re-elected without opposition in 2003. He was re-elected to unprecedented third, fourth, and fifth four-year terms and is the longest serving mayor in the history of the Village of Park Forest.

He previously served as a Park Forest Village Trustee for seven years. He was elected to the Illinois House of Representatives from the 80th House District in 1992 and served until 1995. He enjoyed a professional career as a journalist and educator.

Mayor Ostenburg has served on the Community & Economic Development Policy Committee of the National League of Cities (NLC), and other committees since 2003. He is a member of the Executive Committee and the Legislative Committee of the South Suburban Mayors & Managers Association (SSMMA). He serves as chairperson of the Environment Committee, chairperson of the Energy Subcommittee, and on the Housing & Community Development Committee of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus (MMC). He also serves as MMC Executive Board Secretary and as the SSMMA alternate delegate to the MMC Executive Board.

He is most proud that during his time as mayor, Park Forest adopted its award-winning Sustainability Plan and gained its status as a STAR Community.

John Ostenburg will be speaking at:

World Cafe: The Future of City Energy Policy

- 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM ,

« Back to previous page